Navigating Gender Roles and Privilege


Very interesting perspective on what male privilege implies in practical terms, and what it is like to be trans and benefit from a dose of male privilege.

Dear Cis People

From the moment my voice dropped, I thought it would be smooth sailing from here on out. While no one questions my gender or has any trouble seeing me as male around 3 months on T on, I figured that I can just navigate the world without worrying about transphobia or not let complete strangers find out I was transgender.

I couldn’t have been more wrong, however.

It was tough adjusting to my new new role as a man. Aside from clothing choices and fashion, there were so many unspoken expectations (is this what they call the bro code?) that were thrust upon me all of a sudden. As a guy, I was expected to like sports, physical fitness, winning at everything and fixing stuff. It was as if they assumed that testosterone would automatically increase my knowledge in all of those areas! I can’t tell you how many times…

View original post 402 more words

This entry was posted in Trans politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

